Stacey Kent - The Tender Trap

Stacey Kent has an attractive voice and a lightly swinging style. For Love Is...The Tender Trap -- her debut as a leader -- she is joined by tenor saxophonist Jim Tomlinson (who recalls Scott Hamilton and Stan Getz in spots), guitarist Colin Oxley, pianist David Newton, bassist David Green, and drummer Jeff Hamilton. Kent uplifts each of the familiar tunes slightly but does not add much of herself to the material. Certainly these versions of "I Didn't Know About You," "Comes Love," "East of the Sun," and "They All Laughed" would not qualify as definitive, or dwarf one's memory of earlier renditions. But Stacey Kent has potential for the future once she grows a bit more. A pleasing if insubstantial effort. - by Scott Yanow, AMG

Artist: Stacey Kent
Album: The Tender Trap
Year: 1998
Quality: eac-flac, cue, log, artw.
Label: Candid
Runtime: 56:54

1.  The Tender Trap (Jimmy van Heusen/Sammy Cahn) 4:42
2.  I Didn't Know About You (Duke Ellington/Bob Russell) 4:43
3.  Comes Love (Lew Brown/Charlie Tobias/Sam Stept) 4:04
4.  In The Still Of The Night (Cole Porter) 5:08
5.  Fools Rush In (Rube Bloom/Johnny Mercer) 4:43
6.  East Of The Sun (Brooks Bowman) 6:36
7.  Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart (James F. Hanley) 4:14
8.  They Say It's Wonderful (Irving Berlin) 4:57
9.  Don't Be That Way (Edgar Sampson/Benny Goodman/Mitchell Parish) 4:22
10.  They All Laughed (George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin) 4:01
11.  In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning (David Mann/Bob Hilliard) 4:59
12.  It's A Wonderful World (Leo Watson/Jan Savitt/Harold Adamson) 4:20

Stacey Kent (Vocals)
Jim Tomlinson (Tenor Saxophone)
Colin Oxley (Guitar)
David Newton (Piano)
Dave Green (Double Bass)
Jeff Hamilton (Drums)