Doris Troy - Same (1970)

Surely one of the most talented one-hit wonders of the rock era, Doris Troy hit the Top Ten with "Just One Look" in 1963, but also recorded many other fine pop-soul sides for Atlantic between 1963 and 1965. Unlike many soul performers of the time, Troy wrote most of her own material (under the pseudonym Payne), and had already written for other artists and sung backup with Dionne and Dee Dee Warwick and Cissy Houston on New York soul records before striking out on her own. More melodically ambitious and stylistically eclectic than many of her peers, her Atlantic sides blend elements of gospel, girl group, blues, and pop into a rich New York soul sound. Troy never reached the charts again after "Just One Look," but was more appreciated in England, where she toured occasionally and where the Hollies covered her "What'cha Gonna Do About It" on their first album. Moving to Britain, she recorded an album for Apple in 1970 with assistance from George Harrison and Billy Preston. In the early '70s, she sang backup vocals for British rock groups, most notably the Rolling Stones and Pink Floyd, in addition to recording a couple more albums. In the '80s she starred in Mama I Want to Sing, a musical based on her life story. The musical became a touring success, one which Troy remained involved with until 1998. She continued to perform in Las Vegas until her death from emphysema on February 17, 2004.

An all-star cast supported Troy on her lone Apple effort: George Harrison, Billy Preston, Peter Frampton, Stephen Stills, Klaus Voormann, Jackie Lomax, Eric Clapton, Leon Russell, and Delaney & Bonnie all contributed, and Harrison, Stills, Lomax, Preston, Voormann, and Ringo Starr pitched in on the songwriting, though Troy wrote or co-wrote most of the songs. Well-received by some critics, it really doesn't add up to the sum of its parts. Troy is in great voice, but much of the material is pedestrian, and the heavy rock/soul arrangements often have an over-beefy, early-'70s super-session feel. It works best when Troy puts the brakes on the hard rock to deliver emotional, slower soul tunes. [The 2010 reissue of Doris Troy was remastered by the same Abbey Road team who remastered the acclaimed 2009 Beatles reissues and was expanded by six bonus tracks: a previously unreleased alternate version of “All That I’ve Got (I’m Gonna Give It To You)” along with the original,” a cover of “Get Back,” “Dearest Darling,” “What You Will Blues” and “Vaya Con Dios.”]  (by Ritchie Unterberger)

Bonnie Bramlett (percussion)
Delaney Bramlett (percussion)
Eric Clapton (guitar)
Rita Coolidge (background vocals)
Peter Frampton (guitar)
Jim Gordon (drums)
George Harrison (guitar)
Billy Preston (keyboards)
Leon Russell (piano)
Ringo Starr (drums)
Stephen Stills (guitar, piano, background vocals)
Doris Troy (vocals, piano)
Klaus Voormann (bass)
Alan White (drums)
Bobby Whitlock (keyboards)
an uncredited horn section conducted by John Barham

01. Ain't That Cute (Harrison/Troy) 3.48
02. Special Care (Stills) 2.54
03. Give Me Back My Dynamite (Harrison/Troy) 4.53
04. You Tore Me Up Inside (Troy/Schinnery) 2.27
05. Games People Play (South) 3.06
06. Gonna Get My Baby Back (Harrison/Starkey/Troy/Stills) 2.17
07. I've Got To Be Strong (Lomax/Troy) 2.33
08. Hurry (Troy/Carroll) 3.10
09. So Far (Voormann/Troy) 4.22
10. Exactly Like You" (McHugh/Fields) 3.08
11. You Give Me Joy Joy (Harrison/Starkey/Troy/Stills) 3.38
12. Don't Call Me No More (Troy/Schinnery) 2.04
13. Jacob's Ladder (Traditional) 3.18
14. All That I've Got (I'm Gonna Give It to You) (Preston/Troy) 3.55
15. Get Back (Lennon/McCartney) 3.06
16. Dearest Darling (Troy) 2.50
17. What You Will Blues (Troy) 4.57
18. Vaya Con Dios (Russell/James/Pepper) 3.29
19. All That I've Got (I'm Gonna Give It to You) (alternative version) (Preston/Troy) 3.21

ARMU 2306
ARMU 2306 (zippyshare)